Advisory Board 2014-2019

The Advisory Board of the Independent Commissioner

Since its constituent meeting on 22/23 September 2014, an advisory board consisting of 32 experts has supported the work of the Independent Commissioner for Child Sexual Abuse Issues.

Together with the Independent Commissioner, the advisory board discusses strategies and measures to provide effective protection for children and adolescents against sexual assault, sensitise more strongly the subject of child abuse, improve the possibilities of counselling and assistance and to launch an independent Inquiry.

The most recent meeting of the advisory board took place on 22 and 23 May 2017, together with the Council of Victims and Survivors and the Independent Inquiry Commission. Joint recommendations on political and societal issues were discussed and adopted. Essential objectives include strengthening the fight against child sexual abuse in the coming legislative term and making it easier for victims and survivors to receive support, help and recognition.

The members of the advisory board are appointed for the duration of the period of office of the Independent Commissioner, that is to say until the March 2019.

Overview of the Advisory Board Members

Prof. Dr. Sabine Andresen
Vice-President of the German Child Protection Association (Deutscher Kinderschutzbund Bundesverband e.V.)

Dr. Dirk Bange
Manager of the Department Family, Child Daycare and Equal Opportunities (Leiter Abteilung Familie, Kindertagesbetreuung und Gleichstellung) Hamburg Agency for Work, Social Affairs Family and Integration (Hamburger Behörde für Arbeit, Soziales, Familie und Integration)

Udo Beckmann
Federal Chairman of the Association of Education and Training (Bundesvorsitzender Verband Bildung und Erziehung e.V.)

Dr. Christine Bergmann
Federal Minister for Families (retd.)

Gabriela Beyler
Chair of the Geschlossene Jugendwerkhof Torgau e.V. action group

Dr. Christian Böhm
Head of the Counselling Centre for the Prevention of Violence of the Hamburg authority responsible for Schools and Vocational Training

Prof. Dr. Karin Böllert
Chair of the Working Group for Child and Youth Welfare

Claudia Burgsmüller

Dr. Gudrun Doering-Striening
German Lawyers Association

Prelate Dr. Martin Dutzmann
Authorised Representative of the Council of the EKD for Germany and the European Union Prof. Dr. Jörg M. Fegert Medical Director of the University of Ulm, Clinic for Child and Youth Psychiatry / Psychotherapy

Ingo Fock
Representative of Victims and Survivors

Norbert Hocke
Governing Board of the Trade Union for Education and Science

Katharina Jestaedt
German Bishops Conference

Matthias Katsch
Representative of Victims and Survivors

Prof. Dr. Barbara Kavemann
Freiburg Institute for Women in Research and Social Science in Berlin

Holger Kind
Federal Criminal Police Office

Roswitha Müller-Piepenkötter
Federal Chair WEISSER RING e.V.

Wolfgang Pabel
Chair German Parents Advisory Committee

Martina Puschke
German Council for the Disabled

Prof. Dr. Rainer Richter
President of the German Chamber of Psychotherapists

Sigrid Richter-Unger
Chair of the German Society for Prevention and Intervention in cases of Child Abuse and Neglect

Prof. Dr. Ludwig Salgo
Goethe University Frankfurt, Faculty of Law

Friedemann Schindler
Head of (youth

Thomas Schlingmann
Tauwetter e.V.

Martin Schönwandt
Managing Director of the German Sports Youth in the German Olympic Sports Association e.V.

Francesca Stiehler
Liaison Officer at the German Pupils Conference (Regional Pupils Association Saxony)

Norbert Struck
Federal Working Group for Non-Governmental Welfare Services / Der PARITÄTISCHE General Association e.V.

Prof. Dr. Sabine Walper
President of the German League for the Child in the Family and Society e.V.

Julia von Weiler
Board of Innocence in Danger e.V.

Prof. Dr. Mechthild Wolff
Landshut University, Faculty of Social Work

Gudrun Wolters-Vogeler
Chair of the Board of the General Association of Head Teachers Germany e.V.

Work in Six Concept Groups

The work of the advisory board occurs alongside joint meetings which take place approximately once a year, mainly in five thematic concept groups, which were formed based on the following areas of focus and in each case led by speakers:

  1. Concept group: Research
  2. Concept group: Protection and competence development
  3. Concept group: OEG / Victims compensation law
  4. Concept group: Children in legal and administrative proceedings
  5. Concept group: Internet

In the concept groups, questions, recommendations and demands relating to the individual subject areas are identified and discussed.

The Telephone Helpline

The Telephone Helpline

Find help near you

Grafik einer Deutschlandkarte mit Lupe
Sie befinden sich hier: